After College Days

Here are some things I’ve been thinking right after I graduated.

  1. How am I going to make money?

Yup, that’s it. Quite frankly I wish it wouldn’t be this way, but it’s not something I can change. I’m readily focused on making a living for myself. The only problem is, without direction and guidance, I might as well just work at coffee shop. And so that’s what I’ve done. I worked at Starbucks for about five months. While I was yelling out drinks in completely correct order like I was a coffee fanatic, “Triple Venti Non-Fat No Foam Latte for blah-blah-blah!”, I was looking for another job that could push me towards my first step of my law career. While I waited for school, I needed the money and experience. So I was grinding, and five months later I found a job at a small law office in Brooklyn. It’s a two hour train ride from home, but as people say, “you gotta do what you gotta do.” How the hell are fresh graduates supposed to apply for jobs that require years of experience when that job title is literally the first step into the career? Can’t anyone just give a kid a break and teach him/her a thing or two instead of rejection after rejection? After I got the job, I still wasn’t satisfied. It’s not that it’s not for me, but I was too eager to find different fruitful opportunities. I didn’t want to sit on my ass for 8 hours a day, what the world has in store for me is so bountiful that I didn’t want to waste it, especially during my youth. But we can’t have two things at once. Sometimes, I think otherwise. I see examples of people who are working and actually enjoying their time. It’s like people say, “if you love what you do, then it’s not work.” Why is that so hard to do? I love to cook, I want to open up a restaurant, so should I just give up everything and do such a thing? I love photography, but will that cover my bills?

Leave a Reply

